Faculty Engagement in Diversity and Inclusion Training and Mentoring

Several of our faculty have completed the UGA Safe Space training, including: Katherine Ehrlich, Allison Howard, Justin Lavner, Isha Metzger, Steve Miller, Kacy Morris, Emily Mouilso, Anne Shaffer, Kristen Shockley, and Cindy Suveg

Several of our faculty have completed the UGA Certificate of Diversity and Inclusion, including: Adam Goodie, Justin Lavner, Isha Metzger, Kacy Morris, and Emily Mouilso

Current faculty have mentored more than 15 Undergraduate McNair Scholars, supporting research training for first generation college students and members of racial and ethnic minorities that are underrepresented in graduate programs. 

Awards and Recognition Related to Diversity and Inclusion

Our graduate students include recipients and honorable mentions for several prestigious fellowships that aim to increase diversity in academia, including the Ford Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship and the Southern Regional Education Board Doctoral Scholars Program.

Faculty Excellence in Diversity Leadership Award, Franklin College, UGA (2019)

  • Awarded to Anne Shaffer

Innovations in Franklin College Multicultural Curriculum Award

  • Awarded to multiple faculty

Saroj Parasuraman Award (outstanding publication on gender and diversity in organizations) from the Gender and Diversity Divisions of the Academy of Management (2018)

  • Awarded to Kristen Shockley. 

  • Shockley, K.M., Shen, W., Denunzio, M.M., Arvan, M.L., & Knudsen, E.A. (2017). Disentangling the relationship between gender and work-family conflict: An integration of theoretical perspectives using meta-analytic methods. Journal of Applied Psychology, 102 (12), 1601-1635.